Applies to these roles: Admin  

In this article, you'll learn about roles and permissions in Rise accounts, how to transfer team ownership to someone else, and why it's a good idea to add multiple admins to your team.

Understanding Roles

There are five types of users in a Rise account.

  • Account Owner: The person who purchased your Rise subscription is the account owner and the only one who has access to billing management. The account owner is also an admin, and they can transfer ownership to another team member as needed. 
  • Admin: Admins can create and publish courses as well as manage all users, groups, courses, and learning paths for your account. They can manage account settings and access reports. 
  • Reporter: Reporters can take, create, collaborate on, and submit courses for publication. They can also access automatically generated metrics for your account. 
  • Author: Authors can take, create, collaborate on, and submit courses for publication. If direct publication is enabled by admins, they can publish courses. They don’t have access to any reports or administrative functions.
  • Learner: Learners can take courses and browse the library. 

Tip: All users are authors when you first add them to your Rise team (unless you specify otherwise or bulk-import them with specific roles). Here’s how to change their roles.

Understanding Permissions

Here are the tasks that can be performed in a Rise account and who has permission to do them. 

Transferring Account Ownership

Rise subscriptions can have multiple admins but only one account owner. The owner is the person who purchased your Rise subscription and the only one who has access to billing management.

Account ownership can only be transferred to another team member. To start the transfer process, select Manage > Billing and click Change Billing Contact. Then enter the email of the new account owner and click Transfer Ownership

Rise sends the new owner an email. Once they accept the request, they’re the new account owner and can change billing and subscription details.

Note: Until the new owner changes the billing details for your account, we’ll continue to use your current method of payment. 

Designating a New Admin When None Are Available

We can't change your account roles or permissions. Only admins can add more admins to your team. 

We recommend adding multiple admins, even if they don't regularly perform account management tasks. They can be backup admins in situations when no one else is available.

Did this answer your question?