The People section of the Manage tab is where you create groups, add users, and more. 

Manage Groups

Groups are a great way to organize your users. When users are collected in a group, you can quickly enroll every member in a learning path or course, even if they’re added after you enrolled the group! It’s also super easy to communicate with group members all at once

The Groups tab lists all groups in your organization. Groups are searchable and sortable by name or by when they were created. 

Create groups to organize your users by department or location. To get started, click the Add Group button, give your group a name, and click Add Group.

After creating a group, click it to see its details and manage its members. At the top of the page, rename or delete the group by clicking the edit icon next to the title and choosing the appropriate action. 

Do you need to let a group’s members know about a change to a course they’re enrolled in? Or do you just want to make sure they’re all staying on task? Send a message to all members in the group at once by clicking the Message members link, entering your message, and clicking Send. Your message will be sent to the email address of each group member. 

Note: Messaging members is not available at this time.

Groups are more fun when you have more members! Click the Add Members button. Then, in the Add group members popup, enter a name in the field and choose a user from the list that appears. Add as many members as you need. Did you include someone by accident? No problem! Just hover over their entry and click the trash icon that appears to remove them from the list. When your group members list looks just right, click Add Members.

Once your group is populated, you can sort the list by name, email address, and role. You can also search the list using the search bar and filter the results by user role. Keep in mind that you can only change user roles in the Users tab (see below). 

Remove members from a group by hovering over their entry and clicking the Remove link that appears. 

Go back to the main People tab by clicking the arrow next to the group name. 

Manage Users

The Users tab lists everyone who's accepted an invitation to be a member of your team. You can search the list using the search bar and filter the results by user role (learn more about roles below). 

To add users to your organization, click the Add Users button. Type the email where you want to send a user’s invitation and press Enter. Specify whether you’d like them to join as Learner, Author, Admin, or Reporter. The Author role is selected by default for new users unless the default role has been changed in your account settings

Keep adding email addresses and choosing roles as needed. Then click Add People to send an email invite to everyone you've added. Invited users are added to the Pending tab. 

Modify Users

Once a user has accepted their invitation, they’re added to the Users tab. Click an entry to change a user’s name, update their email address, modify their role, or manage their group enrollment. Select the appropriate edit icon to edit a user’s name or their email address. Use the drop-down menu to change a user’s role. 

Add a user to any existing groups by clicking Add Group and selecting them from the pop-up window that displays. Quickly remove a user from a group by hovering over a group they belong to and clicking the X.  

Remove a user by clicking Delete User and confirming the action. To see how to manage content for users you remove from your account, click here.

Note: While you can currently delete users, at this time you'll need to manually transfer their courses to other users prior to user deletion. See the "Transfer a Course to a Different Course Owner" section of the Work on a Course With Other Team Members article for instructions. 

User Roles

There are four roles for users on your team. You can have as many of each type as needed.

  • Learners can take but not create courses. They have access to the Learn tab. 
  • Authors can take, create, and submit courses. They also have access to the Create tab. 
  • Reporters can take, create, and submit courses. They also have access to the Report tab.
  • Admins can do everything. They have access to the Manage tab, which includes everything in the Report tab.

You’ll find more details on user roles and permissions here.

Manage Pending Users

Once a user has been invited, you can manage their invitation on the Pending tab. From here you can resend the invitation email or delete them from the list. After you delete a pending invitation, the user won’t be able to use the email link to join and you’ll have to restart the invite process.

Import and Export Groups and Users

Especially if you have a large organization, the fastest way to make bulk changes to your groups and users is with a CSV file. Check out this article to see how it works. 

Did this answer your question?