Applies to these roles: Admin

With multiple libraries, your learners see only what you want them to see. It’s great for when you have content that doesn’t apply to everyone in your organization.

Rather than turning off the library visibility for individual pieces of content and then assigning them to learners or groups, create collections of content and give access just to those users who need it. Having multiple libraries also gives users the agency to browse and discover the content they find the most useful, since their library view doesn’t contain irrelevant courses or learning paths.

Here’s how it works.

  1. View the Libraries List

  2. Create and Delete Libraries Add Content

  3. Add Groups and Users to Custom Libraries

  4. Control Library Access

Step 1: View the Libraries List

The Libraries tab is where all of the libraries in your account are listed, sorted by creation date, with your default library (i.e., the library that’s generated when you create your account) at the top of the list. You can’t rename your default library.

The total number of items (learning paths and courses) and users assigned are displayed for each individual library. Search the library list by using the search bar.

Preview a library by hovering over the list entry and clicking Preview Library. Click the entry to see the library’s details as well as manage content and user access.

Tip: All users have access to the content published to your default library. Manage content access by excluding specific groups and users or remove your content from Default and add it to custom libraries.

Step 2: Create and Delete Libraries

Click the New Library button to create a new library. Enter a name in the pop-up and click Add Library to add it to your list. There’s no limit to the number of libraries you can add to your account.

Delete a library by selecting it from the list and clicking the delete icon in the library settings. Deleting a library doesn't delete the content you've added to that library. You can’t delete your default library.

Step 3: Add Content

Select an entry in the list, then click the Add Content button to add courses and learning paths. Select content from the list that displays. Filter the list via the topics drop-down menu. Click Done when you're finished.

You can also add courses and learning paths to libraries directly from their individual records. You can add a course or learning path to multiple libraries.

Remove content from the library by hovering over its entry in the content list and clicking the trash icon. Removing a course or learning path from a library doesn't remove it from your account.

Note: Content isn't published to your default library automatically.

Step 4: Add Groups and Users to Custom Libraries

From the main Libraries tab, select an entry from the list. To add groups to the library, select the Groups tab, then click Add Groups. For individual users, select the Users tab, then select Add Users. In both cases, click Done once you're finished to add the groups or users to the library.

On both tabs, revoke library access by hovering over a group or user entry and clicking the trash icon to delete it from the list.

Step 5: Control Library Access

Custom Libraries

Custom libraries and their content aren't available to users until you switch them to Live via the Status switch. Switching a library to offline mode disables access to its content.

Default Library

Your default library is live by default and everyone in your organization has access to its content. Limit groups and users that see the default library by selecting it and managing library exclusions.

  1. From the Libraries tab, select Default Library.

  2. In the status panel, click Edit on the exclusions line.

  3. In the Manage Exclusions pop-up, add groups and users to the exclusion list. Once you’ve finished, click Save Changes.

Now, only those users who aren’t excluded will see the default library and its contents.

Note: Excluded users still have access to content that’s assigned to the Everyone group.

Tip: Don’t want new users to have access to the default library? Create a group, add it to your default library exclusions, then add users to that group when you invite them to your account.

Did this answer your question?