Applies to these roles: Author, Reporter, Admin  

When you’ve built the perfect lesson or block, wouldn’t it be great if you could use it again without having to start from scratch? That’s why we built block templates! Build Rise courses faster by saving existing blocks and their content as block templates and then reusing those block templates in other lessons. You can even share them with your team. 

It’s like copy and paste, but supercharged!

Creating Block Templates

  1. Open a Rise course, then edit the lesson you want to save as a block template. Or, create a new lesson and add the blocks you want to include in the block template.
  2. Click All Blocks on the blocks shortcut bar or the insert block icon (+) that appears when you mouse-over a boundary between blocks.
  3. Select the Block Templates category in the sidebar, then click New Block Template in the panel that appears.
  4. The sidebar closes and a check mark floats over each block in your lesson. Click the check mark for each block you want to include in the block template you’re creating. If you select the wrong block, just click it again to uncheck it.
  5. After selecting all the blocks you want to include in your block template, click Save on the toolbar at the top of the page.
  6. Enter a name for your block template (up to 42 characters). If you don’t want to share this block template with your team, deselect Share with Team. Click Save to complete the process.

Sharing Block Templates

Sharing block templates with your team lets them quickly reuse the content you’ve created. 

Share a New Block Template

You can share a block template when you create it. By default, the Share with Team box is marked when you name the block template as described above.

Share an Existing Block Template

You can also share block templates you previously created. Here’s how:

  1. Open a Rise course, then edit an existing lesson or create a new one. You can choose any lesson since you won’t make changes to the lesson itself.
  2. Click All Blocks on the blocks shortcut bar or the insert block icon (+) that appears when you mouse-over a boundary between blocks.
  3. Select the Block Templates category in the sidebar, then hover over the block template you want to share and click the pencil icon that appears. (You can only share block templates you created. You won’t see an icon for block templates created by other team members.)
  4. Mark the Share with Team box, then click Done.

Renaming Block Templates

Need to rename an existing block template? It’s easy for you or an admin to do.

  1. Open a Rise course, then edit an existing lesson or create a new one. 
  2. Click All Blocks on the blocks shortcut bar or the insert block icon (+) that appears when you mouse-over a boundary between blocks.
  3. Select the Block Templates category in the sidebar, then hover over the block template you want to rename and click the pencil icon that appears. (You can only rename block templates you created. You won’t see an icon for block templates created by other team members.)
  4. Enter a new name for your block template, then click Done.

Deleting Block Templates

You or an admin can delete block templates you created. Here’s how:

  1. Open a Rise course, then edit an existing lesson or create a new one. You can choose any lesson since you won’t make changes to the lesson itself.
  2. Click All Blocks on the blocks shortcut bar or the insert block icon (+) that appears when you mouse-over a boundary between blocks.
  3. Select the Block Templates category in the sidebar, then hover over the block template you want to delete and click the trash icon that appears. (You can only delete block templates you created. You won’t see an icon for block templates created by other team members.)
  4. Click Delete when prompted to confirm you want to delete the block template.

Reusing Block Templates

Reusing block templates in your Rise courses is even easier than creating them.

  1. Open a Rise course, then edit an existing lesson or create a new one. 
  2. Click All Blocks on the blocks shortcut bar or the insert block icon (+) that appears when you mouse-over a boundary between blocks.
  3. When the sidebar opens, select the Block Templates category and click the block template you want to use.

That’s it! The blocks and content from the block template are immediately added to your lesson. You can edit them as well. Editing the blocks or content after inserting them into your lesson won’t change the block template.

Combining Multiple Lessons

If you have multiple lessons that you’d like to combine into a single lesson, use block templates to do it in a snap. Just create new block templates as detailed above, then create a new lesson and add each block template you created from the block templates category in the block library.

Tips for Finding Block Templates

As your block template library grows, use the searching and sorting features to find the block templates you need.

  • Use the search field to find templates by name. The block template list automatically filters as you type.
  • You can use the Author drop-down list to find block templates shared by any member of your team.
  • Use the Sort By drop-down list to sort block templates alphabetically or by date.

FAQs

Can I share block templates with other teams?

No. You can only share block templates with your team.

Can I transfer ownership of block templates to other team members?

You can’t transfer ownership of block templates. However, team members can insert a block template into a lesson, then create a new block template with the same blocks and content. They won’t be able to delete the original block template, but they will own the duplicate block template they created.

What happens to block templates when the owner is no longer part of the team?

When users are removed from a team, their shared block templates remain available for the team to reuse or be renamed or deleted by an admin. However, their unshared block templates can’t be renamed or deleted. Let us know if you need help.

When I reuse a block template, will it have the original fonts or the ones in my current course theme?

Block templates always use the theme fonts in the course you’re currently building.

Does text keep its original formatting when I reuse a block template in another course?

Yes. Text retains all its original formatting, such as bold, italics, size, color, bullets, and more.

Can I add new blocks, remove old blocks, or edit content for an existing block template?

You can’t update existing block templates. However, you can insert a block template into a lesson, make adjustments to it, then save it as a new block template.

Can I edit a block template created by another team member?

If you’re not an admin, you can only rename, share, and delete block templates you created. Admins can rename and delete shared block templates for the whole team.

Did this answer your question?