Applies to these roles: Author, Reporter, Admin
We’ve all done it. We’ve hovered our cursor over a block’s delete icon in a Rise lesson, considering whether we needed to move it, copy it, or remove it when—oops!—our finger twitches and the choice is made for us as the block disappears in a flash.
Don’t panic! If you act quickly, you can get that deleted block back. There’s an 8-second window after you click the delete icon when a Block Removed notification appears at the bottom-left corner of the screen. Click Undo while it’s still visible and your block will reappear as if nothing happened. Crisis averted.
What if you don’t delete an entire block, but, instead, delete text contained in the block? Luckily, the Ctrl+Z (Command+Z for Macs) key combo works wherever there’s a text entry in Rise authoring. If you’re working in a text block (or any block where you can edit the content without going into an edit menu), press the key combo or highlight any text and press the Undo button on the floating toolbar to undo your recent actions. However, you can only use undo for your current editing session. Once you leave the lesson, your changes are locked in. Similarly, you can use the key combo to undo actions while working with content in a block edit menu, but will lose the ability to undo once you return to the main lesson.
But what if you miss the notification or close the lesson? Unfortunately, in those two cases there’s no way to restore blocks or text you’ve deleted. However, we do have some tips to help reduce the chance that your “lost” content is really gone forever.
Did you lose your header or content paragraphs when you switched to a different type of text block? Don’t worry, your text is still there, it’s just hidden. When you switch back to the previous block type, any content that disappeared will reappear. For example, if you change a Paragraph with Heading block to a Heading block, your content disappears but your heading stays. Then, if you change back to Paragraph with Heading, your content reappears.
If you want to make substantial changes to a lesson, make a duplicate before you start editing and try out your changes there. This way, you can keep your original lesson content as a backup and quickly create a block template of any content you’d like to recover for your new, modified lesson. Oh, and if when you delete your extra lesson, you delete the wrong one by accident? Don’t worry, there’s an 8-second undo dialogue that pops up here as well.