This article applies to: Authors, Reporters, Admins

Creating amazing content is easy to do in Rise, but what if you want to use it somewhere else? You could copy the content, insert a block, then paste and reformat the content. But that’s a laborious manual process. It’s also completely unnecessary! We’ve built a bunch of great ways to use your content over and over again without having to copy and paste.

  1. Creating Block Templates
  2. Duplicating Blocks
  3. Duplicating Lessons
  4. Copying Lessons Across Courses
  5. Duplicating Courses
  6. Inserting Prebuilt Content

1. Creating Block Templates

Block templates are exactly what they sound like. You save existing blocks and their content as a reusable template to insert into other lessons. You can even share them with your team. It takes a little more effort than a simple copy/paste, but the trade-off—getting a reusable chunk of preformatted content that everyone can use—is worth it. Here’s how to create one:

  1. Open a Rise course and then edit the lesson you want to save as a block template. Or, create a new lesson and add the blocks you want to include in the block template.
  2. Click All Blocks on the blocks shortcut bar or the insert block icon (+) that appears when you mouse-over a boundary between blocks.
  3. Select the Block Templates category in the sidebar, then click New Block Template in the panel that appears.
  4. The sidebar closes and a checkmark floats over each block in your lesson. Click the checkmark for each block you want to include in the block template you’re creating. If you select the wrong block, just click it again to uncheck it.
  5. After selecting all the blocks you want to include in your block template, click Save on the toolbar at the top of the page.
  6. Enter a name for your block template (up to 42 characters). If you don’t want to share this block template with your team, deselect Share with Team. Click Save to complete the process.

For information on how to manage your block templates, share them with your team, and more, click here.

2. Duplicating Blocks

Duplicating a block is great if you want to immediately reuse it in the current lesson. To quickly duplicate a block, hover over the toolbar on the right-hand side of the block, and click the Duplicate icon.

The duplicated block is inserted immediately after your current block.

If, instead of using it in the current lesson, you want to use the block in another lesson or course, then create a block template as detailed in the previous section.

3. Duplicating Lessons

Duplicating a lesson is perfect when you need a similar structure for another lesson in your current course and plan to swap out the content. It’s also super easy to do.

  1. Navigate to your course outline.
  2. Hover over the lesson and click the ellipses icon (•••) that appears.
  3. Select Duplicate.

That’s it! The duplicated lesson is inserted below the original lesson in your course outline.

4. Copying Lessons Across Courses

If you want to use an existing lesson in another course, you can do that too!

  1. In the course outline, hover over the lesson you want to copy, click the ellipses icon (•••) that appears, and choose Copy to Another Course.
  2. When the course selector appears, click the course to which you want to copy the lesson.
  3. You’ll see a confirmation message in the lower-left corner stating that the lesson was successfully copied. Click the View button to jump directly to the course where the lesson was copied.

The copied lesson appears at the bottom of the outline in the new course. You can change the order by dragging the lesson to another location in the outline. Keep in mind that you can only copy a lesson to an existing course.

5. Duplicating Courses

You can quickly create copies of entire courses with the duplicate function available on your create dashboard.

  1. Hover over the card of the course you want to duplicate and click the ellipsis icon (•••) that appears.
  2. Choose Duplicate to create a new course with the same layout or similar content.
  3. Enter a name for the new course and click Duplicate.

The new course appears at the top of your create dashboard.

Keep in mind, some collaborators won’t see the ellipsis menu on course cards. Only course owners and course managers can duplicate courses.

6. Inserting Prebuilt Content

With business content lessons, templates, and course samples you create courses using our carefully researched content as the base. Then you can customize them, adding your own original content.

Start by clicking the New Course button in the upper left of your create dashboard. Then select whether you’d like to start with Business Lessons that cover a variety of business topics, Templates with placeholder content, or ready-to-use Samples.

No matter which you pick, they’re fully customizable so that you can edit them and make them your own.

Did this answer your question?