Applies to these roles: Author, Reporter, Admin  

Teams can easily collaborate on Rise courses. Create and edit different lessons in a course at the same time or take turns fine-tuning the same lesson. 

You can also send a copy of a Rise course to another Rise user. Keep in mind, each of you will have an independent copy of the course; it’s not real-time collaboration as described in this guide.

Add Collaborators to a Course

You can add as many collaborators as you want to a Rise course as long as they are on your team. Collaborators must be on the same Rise account.

  1. Go to the Create tab and open the course on which you want to collaborate.
  2. Click Settings in the upper right corner of the editor and select the Collaborators tab. (You can also click Collaborator and choose Manage Collaborators to get to the same screen.)
  3. Enter the name for each team member who should have access to the course and click Invite.
  4. Click Close in the upper right corner to return to the course editor.

Each team member you invite will receive an email notification, and the course will automatically appear on his or her Rise dashboard in the Shared with Me folder (as well as the All Courses container). Collaborators will also see the owner’s avatar on the course card.

Change a Collaborator’s Role

Collaborators can have one of three roles for a course:

  • The Course Owner can do everything.
  • A Course Manager can do everything except edit labels, transfer ownership and delete the course.
  • A Course Collaborator can edit the course but doesn’t have access to Settings, Collaborate, Review, or Submit.

By default, collaborators are assigned the author role. You can update their role at any time. 

  1. Go to the Create tab and open the course on which you’re collaborating.
  2. Click Settings in the upper right corner of the editor and select the Collaborators tab. (You can also click Collaborators and choose Manage Collaborators to get to the same screen.)
  3. Modify a collaborator’s role from the drop-down menu in his or her list entry.
  4. Click Close in the upper right corner to return to the course editor.

Course managers and course collaborators can remove themselves as collaborators. 

Collaborate on a Course with Other Authors

Everyone on your team who has access to a Rise course can work on it simultaneously. Changes appear immediately. Here’s how each feature works with collaborators.

  • Edit the Course Title, Description, and Author - Only one author at a time can edit the course title and description. When someone else is editing either field, it’ll turn gray and you’ll see the author’s profile picture or initials beside it.

    Anyone can change the author that displays in the published course. Just click the Author drop-down list and choose one of the collaborators or hide the author altogether.
  • Add New Section Headers and Lessons - All collaborators can add new section headers and lessons to the course outline.
  • Edit Section Headers - Only one author at a time can edit an existing section header. When someone else is editing it, it’ll turn gray and you’ll see the author’s profile picture or initials beside it.
  • Edit Lessons - You can edit any existing lesson in the course unless someone else is currently working on it, in which case you’ll see his or her profile picture or initials and when the last edit occurred beside the lesson in the course outline.

    If you click the Edit Content button for a lesson that another author is currently editing, you’ll have the option to take control of the lesson. We recommend contacting the other author, as a courtesy, before taking control of a lesson, since taking control will lock him or her out of the lesson.
  • Delete Section Headers and Lessons - All collaborators can delete section headers and lessons unless they’re currently being edited by other authors.
  • Rearrange Section Headers and Lessons - All collaborators can rearrange section headers and lessons in the course outline—even when they’re being edited by other authors.
  • Preview the Course - All collaborators can preview the course.
  • Review the Course - Only the course owner or a course manager can publish a course to Review to collect feedback from stakeholders.
  • Change Course Settings - Only the course owner or a course manager can change the course settings, including theme, navigation mode, and collaborators.
  • Edit Text Labels - Only the course owner can edit its text labels.
  • Send, Duplicate, Move the Course - Only the course owner or a course manager can send, duplicate, and move the course. 
  • Submit a Course - The course owner and course manager can submit a course for publishing to the account library. 
  • Publish a Course - If author publishing is active, the course owner can publish a course directly to the library.
  • Delete and Restore the Course - Only the course owner can delete or restore the course.

Remove Collaborators from a Course

  1. Go to the Create tab and open the course you need to edit.
  2. Click Settings in the upper right corner of the editor and select the Collaborators tab. (You can also click Collaborate and choose Manage Collaborators to get to the same screen.)
  3. Hover over each team member you want to remove from the course, click the X that appears, then click Remove to confirm your choice.
  4. Click Close in the upper right corner to return to the course editor.

When you remove collaborators, the course will disappear from their Rise dashboards. If they’re editing the course when you remove their access, they’ll immediately return to their Rise dashboards.

Remove Yourself from a Course

Course managers and course collaborators can remove themselves from a course. 

  1. Go to the Create tab.
  2. Hover over the course you want to remove yourself from and click the ellipsis (...) that appears. 
  3. Click Remove from the menu and confirm your choice. 

Course owners can’t remove themselves from a course, they must transfer ownership first (see below). 

Transfer a Course to a Different Course Owner

Only the course owner can transfer ownership to another author. Here’s how:

  1. Go to the Create tab and open the course you want to transfer.
  2. Click Settings in the upper right corner of the editor and select the Collaborators tab. (You can also click Collaborate and choose Manage Collaborators to get to the same screen.)
  3. Hover over your name in the list of collaborators and click the Transfer link that appears.
  4. Select a collaborator to be the new course owner and click the Transfer button. (If the new course owner isn't already in your list of collaborators, you’ll need to add him or her first. See above.)
  5. Your role will be changed to course collaborator and you’ll automatically return to the course.
Did this answer your question?